Search Calls

Nowhere is a country’s culture and history as immediately and authentically accessible as in its audio-visual heritage. More than any other medium, film captures the flavors and textures of the everyday realities of the past. Privately made small-gauge films are a particularly important source of a nation’s audio-visual identity.

 

In recent years, enormous amounts of private film materials, many of them possibly valuable, have been discarded by their owners due to a lack of playback options. This painful loss gave the FAA the idea to launch a project aimed at systematically saving and preserving this ephemeral kind of filmmaking, which had been unjustly neglected far too long. The small-gauge films submitted to the FAA in response to its search calls were digitized, and the analog originals were put into long-term storage at the FAA’s Laxenburg location. The original owners were given free digital copies of their materials in the form of DVDs.


CONTACT

Fumiko Tsuneishi, MA
f.tsuneishi@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 216 13 00 – 250

“Your Movies Write History” was the FAA’s motto as it started its first search call for amateur films in the Austrian provinces. A successful pilot project in Burgenland (2012) was followed up with calls in Lower Austria (2013) and Salzburg (2016). By the end of 2017, Film Archive had assembled Europe’s largest collection of amateur films, comprising more than 100,000 items. These unique documents of everyday culture will be explored in the coming years by various scholarly and cultural projects. In 2018, the FAA, in collaboration with Salzburg’s Department for Culture and the state’s public libraries, will make available a selection of amateur films through its interactive digital archive.

Suchaufrufe

Das audiovisuelle Kulturerbe reflektiert die Geschichte und Kultur eines Landes in unmittelbarer und besonders authentischer Form, Filme fungieren dabei als »Resonanzkörper« von je spezifischen Lebenswirklichkeiten und avancieren zu wichtigen Zeugnissen der Alltagskultur. Eine konstituierende Quelle der audiovisuellen Identität sind insbesondere auch privat hergestellte Schmalfilme.

 

Mangels Abspielmöglichkeiten wurden in den letzten Jahren enorme Bestände an privaten Filmmaterialien entsorgt – darunter viele möglicherweise wertvolle Aufnahmen. Diese oft schmerzliche Verlusterfahrung brachte das Filmarchiv-Team auf die Idee, ein Projekt zur systematischen Rettung und Sicherung dieses lange Zeit nur wenig beachteten ephemeren Filmschaffens zu starten. Das Konzept sieht vor, alle abgegebenen Schmalfilme zu digitalisieren und für die Einbringer kostenfrei auf DVD zu überspielen – die analogen Originale werden im Filmarchiv Austria in Laxenburg langfristig aufbewahrt.


KONTAKT

Fumiko Tsuneishi, MA
f.tsuneishi@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 216 13 00 – 250

»Ihre Filme schreiben Geschichte« lautete das Motto der vom Filmarchiv Austria seit 2012 initiierten systematischen Suchaufrufe zur Einbringung von Amateurfilmen in den österreichischen Bundesländern. Nach einem erfolgreichen Pilotprojekt im Burgenland wurden 2013 auch in Niederösterreich und 2016 in Salzburg landesweite Filmsammelaktionen gestartet. Bis Ende 2017 hat das Filmarchiv Austria mit über 100.000 Titeln die größte Amateurfilmsammlung Europas etabliert, eine einmalige Kollektion filmischer Alltagsdokumentation, die nun für verschiedene wissenschaftliche und kulturelle Projekte zur Verfügung steht. In einem Folgeprojekt wird das Filmarchiv Austria in Kooperation mit der Kulturabteilung des Landes Salzburg und den öffentlichen Bibliotheken ab 2018 eine Auswahl der eingebrachten Filme in Form eines interaktiven digitalen Archivs veröffentlichen.