METRO
KINOKULTURHAUS

 

The 19th-century building, which houses the Historic Theater of the former Metro Cinema, has been transformed by the FAA into the METRO Kinokulturhaus. Completely renovated and substantially expanded through the inclusion of additional floors, the new Kinokulturhaus, situated right in the heart of Vienna, boasts two theaters and extensive spaces for exhbitions and events, making it the perfect venue for presenting Austrian film culture from its pioneering days to the present. Locally sourced snacks and refreshments are provided by our in-house METRO Cafe & Kinobar.

 

All floors can be reached by elevator. The Historical Theater and the Eric-Pleskow Theater have one wheelchair seat each.


ADDRESS

Johannesgasse 4, 1010 Vienna
-> Show map

Contact

metrokino@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 512 18 03
DAILY 15:00–21:00

Ticket reservation

reservierung@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 512 18 03
daily 15:00–21:00

Box Office & Store

daily 15:00–21:00

METRO Kinobar

daily 15:00–23:00

AUDIO-VISUAL
CENTER AUGARTEN

 

Since 1997, the Audio-Visual Center Augarten has served as the FAA’s headquarters. Surrounded by stunningly beautiful natural marshlands, it gives anyone interested in films – from cinéphiles to TV producers – an opportunity to directly plug into over a century of film history. The Study Center moreover provides film scholars with an excellent infrastructure to access all our collections. During the summer months, the Audio-Visual Center’s romantic nature garden metamorphoses into what is arguably Vienna’s most beautiful open-air cinema, where the FAA and the Viennale annually co-present the festival Cinema Like Never Before, a fixture of Vienna’s cultural calendar for many years.


ADDRESS

Obere Augartenstraße 1 e, 1020 Vienna
-> Show map

CONTACT

augarten@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 216 13 00

OFFICE & SHOP

MO-THU 10:00–17:00
FRI 10:00–16:00

Study Center & Library

TUE 13:00–17:00
THU 9:00–13:00

Film Repository
LAXENBURG

 

At its Laxenburg location, the FAA administers Austria’s largest film collection. The new state-of-the-art film repositories built there over the last years have made Laxenburg into an internationally acclaimed center for the long-term archival of Austria’s cinematic heritage. Besides cataloging, the tasks attended to in Laxenburg include the reconstruction of historical films as well as analog and digital film restorations. Our important collection of cinema technology is also stored in Laxenburg, as are a number of other special collections.


ADDRESS

Parkweg 89, 2361 Laxenburg
-> Show map

CONTACT

laxenburg@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 216 13 00 – 415

VISIT US

The Central Film Repository can be visited upon request.

METRO
KINOKULTURHAUS


Das im 19. Jahrhundert errichtete Haus mit dem historischen Saal des Metro-Kinos wurde vom Filmarchiv Austria bis 2015 umfassend renoviert und durch Einbeziehung weiterer Räumlichkeiten zum Kinokulturhaus erweitert. Mit zwei Kinosälen sowie Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsflächen ist im Herzen Wiens die multimediale Präsentation österreichischer Filmkultur von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart möglich. Für Erfrischungen und Snacks in regionaler Bioqualität sorgt die hauseigene METRO Kinobar.

 

Alle Ausstellungs- und Kino-Ebenen sind mit einem Lift erreichbar, beide Kinosäle verfügen über Rollstuhlplätze. Die Satyr Filmwelt befindet sich ebenerdig im Foyer.


Adresse

Johannesgasse 4, 1010 Wien

Kontakt

metrokino@filmarchiv.at
+43 1 512 18 03

Derzeit geschlossen

Ticketreservierung

Derzeit kein Spielbetrieb

Satyr Filmwelt

Derzeit geschlossen

METRO Kinobar

Derzeit kein Gastronomiebetrieb

Audiovisuelles
Zentrum Augarten


Das Audiovisuelle Zentrum Augarten bildet seit 1997 die Zentrale des Filmarchiv Austria und offeriert allen Filminteressierten – vom Cineasten bis zum Fernsehproduzenten – im herrlichen, von naturbelassener Aulandschaft umgebenen Ambiente Zugang zu den Sammlungen des Hauses, die über 100 Jahre Film- und Zeitgeschichte repräsentieren. Das Studienzentrum bietet eine hochkarätige Infrastruktur für die wissenschaftliche Nutzung der Bestände. In den Sommermonaten verwandelt sich der romantische Naturgarten des Audiovisuellen Zentrums in Wiens vielleicht schönstes Open-Air-Kino. Das Filmarchiv Austria präsentiert hier in Kooperation mit der Viennale alljährlich das Sommerfilmfestival Kino wie noch nie, ein Angebot, das seit vielen Jahre­n zu einem Fixpunkt des Wiener Kultursommers zählt.


Adresse

Obere Augartenstraße 1e, 1020 Wien

Kontakt

augarten@filmarchiv.at
+ 43 1 216 13 00

Büro

MO–FR 9:30–15:00

Studienzentrum & Bibliothek

k.hoech@filmarchiv.at

Derzeit geschlossen

Zentralfilmarchiv
Laxenburg


Am Standort Laxenburg betreut das Filmarchiv Austria die größte Filmsammlung Österreichs. Mit neu errichteten State-of-the-Art-Filmdepots wurde vor den Toren Wiens ein international ausstrahlendes Zentrum für die Langzeitarchivierung des österreichischen Filmerbes geschaffen. Neben der Katalogisierung erfolgt in Laxenburg auch die Rekonstruktion historischer Filme sowie die analoge und digitale Filmrestaurierung. Auch die bedeutende Filmtechniksammlung sowie weitere Spezialsammlungen werden in Laxenburg aufbewahrt.


Adresse

Parkweg 89, 2361 Laxenburg

Kontakt

laxenburg@filmarchiv.at
+43 1 216 13 00–415

Besuch

Derzeit keine Besichtigung des Filmdepots möglich