Amateur Films

 

From the 1920s through the 1990s, analog amateur films were produced in various small-gauge formats. The rise of video technology spelled the end of these formats. In the digital era, the analog small-gauge films have gradually fallen into oblivion. In spite of the fact that this kind of ephemeral filmmaking dominated the cultural practice of producing private film documents for more than three quarters of a century, this part of our visual heritage was unjustly neglected in the past. Since there is a very real danger that these films may soon be lost for good, an active collecting and archival policy is urgently called for.

 

Since 2012, the FAA has initiated three strategic pilot projects for the collection of private film documents. By means of systematic, province-wide search calls – in Burgenland (2012), Lower Austria (2013–2016) and Salzburg (2017–2018) – the FAA succeeded in saving, archiving and digitizing more than 100,000 amateur films to date. Today, the FAA holds Europe’s largest collection of small-gauge films. The search calls are moreover internationally regarded as reference projects for the preservation of everyday film culture.

 

In the coming years, various research and publishing projects will gradually explore the FAA’s collection of amateur films, which add such a crucial dimension to Austria’s audio-visual heritage. Selections are regularly being made available on DVD in our ongoing series “Austria in Film Documents.” Starting in 2018, selected amateur films will also be made accessible via the FAA’s digital online archive.


CONTACT

Mag. Anna Dobringer
a.dobringer@filmarchiv.at

AMATEURAUFNAHME IM THERESIANUM, A 1904

Amateurfilme

 

Analoge Amateurfilme wurden von den 1920er-Jahren bis in die 1990er-Jahre in verschiedensten Schmalfilmformaten hergestellt und haben bis zum Aufkommen der Videotechnologie dominiert. Durch die mit der Digitalisierung einhergehenden medialen Umbrüche gerieten die analogen Schmalfilme aber sukzessive in Vergessenheit. Da dieses bis dato kaum gewürdigte und von Verlusten bedrohte ephemere Filmschaffen aber über ein Dreivierteljahrhundert die kulturelle Praxis des privaten Filmemachens bestimmte, ist eine aktive Sammlung und Archivierung jetzt besonders wichtig.

 

Das Filmarchiv Austria hat daher seit 2012 drei strategische Leitprojekte zur Sammlung von privaten Filmdokumenten realisiert. Mit systematischen, landesweiten Suchaufrufen im Burgenland (2012), in Niederösterreich (2013–2016) und in Salzburg (2017–2018) wurden bis dato über 100.000 Amateurfilme gesichert, archiviert und digitalisiert – damit wurde im Haus die größte Schmalfilmsammlung Europas aufgebaut. Die Suchaufrufe gelten dabei international als Referenzprojekte für die Bewahrung filmischer Alltagskultur.

 

Mit Forschungs- und Veröffentlichungsprojekten wird die Amateurfilmsammlung des Filmarchivs, die das audiovisuelle Erbe Österreichs um eine wesentliche Dimension erweitert, in den kommenden Jahren sukzessive erschlossen. Teile dieser Sammlung werden laufend im Rahmen der DVD-Edition »Österreich in historischen Filmdokumenten« und ab 2018 auch in Form eines digitalen Archivs im Netz veröffentlicht.


KONTAKT

Mag. Anna Dobringer
a.dobringer@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 216 13 00 – 410

 

AMATEURAUFNAHME IM THERESIANUM, A 1904