METRO Kinokulturhaus

With the METRO Kinokulturhaus the Film Archive Austria has created a new venue for the promotion of film culture right in the heart of Vienna. The large Historic Theater, built in the 19th century, provides the perfect setting for a contemporary presentation of film history from its pioneering days to the present: a venue not only for big retrospectives and premieres, but also smaller events, such as tributes and specials exploring various aspects of Austrian film production.

 

The new studio theater is named after the legendary Austrian-born film producer Eric Pleskow, who was present at its gala opening on October 18th, 2015. It is the first theater in Austria that bears the name of a famous Hollywood emigré. The new exhibition spaces at the Kinokulturhaus extend over three floors and host shows that are thematically related to current retrospectives and film programs.

 

Located in Vienna’s inner city, these are the first permanent exhibition spaces in Austria exclusively devoted to cinema. The combination of movie theaters and exhibition spaces in one house moreover opens up new curatorial fields of action.

 

All floors can be reached by elevator. The Historical Theater and the Eric-Pleskow Theater have one wheelchair seat each.


ADRESS

Johannesgasse 4, 1010 Vienna
-> Show map

CONTACT

metrokino@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 512 18 03
DAILY 19:30–21:00

Ticket Sales

reservierung@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 512 18 03
DAILY 19:30–21:00

Box Office & Store

DAILY 19:30–21:00

METRO Kinobar

dialy 19:30–23:00

Audio-Visual Center

With the opening of the Audio-Visual Center Augarten in 1997, Film Archive has created a new service center at a top location and taken a significant step toward making its institutional work more visible to the public. The adapted farm buildings of the Chateau Augarten accommodate cutting-edge facilities that make the multi-layered cinematic heritage and the many special collections accessible to a broader audience. The Film Archive’s Audio-Visual Center, surrounded by beautiful, natural marshlands, gives anyone interested in films – from cinéphiles to TV producers – an opportunity to directly plug into more than one hundred years of film and contemporary history.

 

The Study Center includes a multi-media equipped reading room with an open-air lounge. Film scholars can use the in-house studio theater for projection viewings and special screenings The technical department, which was thoroughly overhauled in 2015, boasts state-of-the-art film scanners and other equipment for digital film restoration and regularly supplies the Study Center with digital user copies of newly documented and restored material from the archival holdings. The Audio-Visual Center’s customer service handles requests from professional film and TV productions as well as exhibitions. Every year, more than 500 international projects are supplied with archival materials relating to the history of Austria and Austrian cinema.

 

During the summer months, the Audio-Visual Center’s romantic nature garden is annually transformed into what is arguably Vienna’s most beautiful open-air cinema. There, the FAA in cooperation with the Viennale organizes the festival KINO WIE NOCH NIE [Cinema like never before], where audiences can enjoy classics, revivals, silent movies with live music as well as film premieres. For many years, the festival has been a fixture of Vienna’s cultural calender.

 

The study center and the library are barrier-free accessible.


Address

Obere Augartenstraße 1 e, 1020 Vienna
-> Show map

Contact

augarten@filmarchiv.at
+43 1 216 13 00

OFFICE & SHOP

MON–THU 10:00–17:00, FRI 10:00–16:00

Study Center & Library

TUE 13:00–17:00, THU 9:00–13:00

Central Film Archive
Laxenburg

In Laxenburg, the Film Archive administers Austria’s largest film collection. The repositories (as of October 2017) hold about 205,000 titles (520,000 reels or approximately 65 million meters of film). About 85% of the films are Austrian productions. Recent years have seen the addition of two new archival buildings equipped with the latest archival technology.

 

In 2004, the FAA opened the Central Film Archive Laxenburg (design by Michael Embacher), an innovative safety-film repository with an overall capacity of 300,000 reels. Soon afterward, planning began on a second archival structure for the storage of the FAA’s fast-growing collection of nitrate films.

 

In 2010, the new nitrate film repository Laxenburg (design by Ernst Michael Jordan) opened. Made entirely from wood, it is the world’s first archival structure built to passive-house specifications. Today, the Central Film Archive Laxenburg has at its disposal an internationally acclaimed archival infrastructure. Within a relatively brief time-span, the FAA has thus succeeded in establishing just outside Vienna a competence center for the preservation of Austria’s cinematic heritage.

 

The work being done at the FAA’s Laxenburg location covers a wide spectrum of tasks, from cataloging and assessing the material condition of the holdings to the reconstruction of historical films and the restoration of digital as well as analog films. Housed in a separate wing is our important collection of film technology, which comprises film cameras, film projectors, historical film laboratories as well as numerous exhibits from the pre-history of cinema.


ADDRESS

Parkweg 89, 2361 Laxenburg
-> Show map

CONTACT

laxenburg@filmarchiv.at
+43 1 216 13 00-415

VISIT US

The Central Film Archive can be visited upon request.

METRO Kinokulturhaus

Mit dem METRO Kinokulturhaus hat das Filmarchiv Austria einen neuen Ort für die Präsentation von Filmkultur im Herzen Wiens geschaffen. Der im 19. Jahrhundert errichtete große Saal bietet den idealen Rahmen für eine zeitgemäße Aufbereitung und Vermittlung von Film- und Kinogeschichte von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart. Neben großen Retrospektiven und Premieren finden regelmäßig auch kleinere Hommagen, Tributes und Specials statt, die auf die verschiedensten Facetten des österreichischen Filmschaffens Bezug nehmen. Kinostarts neuer österreichischer Produktionen erweitern das filmkulturelle Angebot.

 

Die Namenspatronanz für den neuen, zweiten Saal hat der legendäre österreichische Hollywood-Filmproduzent Eric Pleskow übernommen, am 18. Oktober 2015 wurde der – in Österreich erstmalig nach einem Filmemigranten benannte – Saal in Anwesenheit von Eric Pleskow feierlich eröffnet. Die neuen Ausstellungsräume des Kinokulturhauses sind in drei Ebenen über dem historischen Saal angeordnet und ermöglichen Wechselausstellungen in direktem Zusammenhang mit Retrospektiven und Filmschauen.

 

Das Filmarchiv Austria hat in zentraler Innenstadtlage damit nicht nur die ersten permanenten Filmausstellungsflächen Österreichs geschaffen, sondern in der Verbindung von Kino- und Ausstellungsräumen in einem Haus auch neue kuratorische Handlungsfelder für die Vermittlung des filmischen Kulturerbes geöffnet.

 

Alle Ausstellungs- und Kino-Ebenen sind mit einem Lift erreichbar, beide Kinosäle verfügen über Rollstuhlplätze.


ADRESSE

Johannesgasse 4, 1010 Wien
-> Karte anzeigen

KONTAKT

metrokino@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 512 18 03
MO-SA 17:00–21:00
SO 15:00–21:00

TICKETRESERVIERUNG

reservierung@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 512 18 03
MO-SA 17:00–21:00
SO 15:00–21:00

Kinokassa & Shop

MO-SA 17:00–21:00
SO 15:00–21:00

METRO Cafe & Kinobar

täglich 15:00–23:00

AUDIOVISUELLES ZENTRUM AUGARTEN

Mit der Gründung des neuen Standortes Audiovisuelles Zentrum Augarten hat das Filmarchiv Austria 1997 ein neues Service- und Benützerzentrum geschaffen und damit die Arbeit des Hauses entscheidend in der Öffentlichkeit verankert. Das Audiovisuelle Zentrum des Filmarchivs offeriert allen Filminteressierten im herrlichen, von naturbelassener Aulandschaft umgebenen Ambiente einen unmittelbaren Anschluss an über 100 Jahre Film- und Zeitgeschichte.

 

Das Studienzentrum verfügt über einen multimedial ausgestatteten Lesebereich, im hauseigenen Studiokino sind auch Projektionssichtungen und Sondervorführungen für wissenschaftliche Zwecke möglich. Die 2015 weiter ausgebaute Technikabteilung verfügt über mehrere moderne Filmscanner, eine Infrastruktur zur digitalen Filmrestaurierung und versorgt u. a. das Studienzentrum regelmäßig mit digitalen Benützerkopien von neu erschlossenen und restaurierten Archivbeständen. Das Kundenservice des Audiovisuellen Zentrums betreut professionelle Produktionen im Film-, Fernseh- und Ausstellungsbereich. Jährlich werden hier weltweit über 200 Projekte mit Archivmaterial zur Kultur- und Zeitgeschichte Österreichs unterstützt.

 

In den Sommermonaten verwandelt sich der romantische Naturgarten des Audiovisuellen Zentrums in Wiens vielleicht schönstes Open-Air-Kino. Das Filmarchiv Austria präsentiert hier in Kooperation mit der Viennale das Sommerfilmfestival KINO WIE NOCH NIE. Mit einer cineastischen Programmmischung aus Klassikern, Wiederaufführungen, Stummfilmen mit Livemusik sowie viele Österreich-Premieren wurde ein Angebot geschaffen, das seit vielen Jahren zu einem Fixpunkt des Wiener Kultursommers zählt.

 

Das Studienzentrum und das Sommerkino-Areal sind barrierefrei zugänglich.


Adresse

Obere Augartenstraße 1 e, 1020 Wien
-> Karte anzeigen

Kontakt

augarten@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 216 13 00

BÜRO & SHOP

MO–DO 10:00 – 17:00, Fr 10:00–16:00

Studienzentrum & Bibliothek

DI 13:00–17:00, DO 9:00 – 13:00

ZENTRALFILMARCHIV LAXENBURG

Am Standort Laxenburg betreut das Filmarchiv Austria die größte Filmsammlung Österreichs. Die Filmdepots in Niederösterreich fassen derzeit (Oktober 2017) rund 205.000 Titel (520.000 Filmrollen, ca. 65 Millionen Meter), bei 85 Prozent der Filme handelt es sich um österreichische Produktionen. Die Infrastruktur wurde in den letzten Jahren um zwei mit modernster Archivtechnik ausgestatte Neubauten erweitert, womit vor den Toren Wiens ein Kompetenzzentrum für die Konservierung des filmischen Erbe Österreichs entstanden ist.

 

2004 ist es dem Filmarchiv Austria gelungen, mit dem Zentralfilmarchiv Laxenburg (Planung Michael Embacher) ein zukunftsweisendes Sicherheitsfilmdepot mit über 300.000 Dosen Fassungsvermögen zu etablieren. Nachdem das Filmarchiv Austria auch in Bereich des Nitrofilms starke Zuwachsraten verzeichnete, startete auch hier die Planung für ein innovatives Neubau-Projekt (Planung Ernst Michael Jordan).

 

2010 konnte das neue Nitrofilmdepot Laxenburg als erstes in Passivhaustechnologie errichtetes Vollholz-Archivgebäude der Welt in Betrieb genommen werden. Heute präsentiert sich das Archiv-Zentrum in Laxenburg als zeitgemäße filmkulturelle Basisinfrastruktur des Landes mit internationaler Strahlkraft. Neben der Katalogisierung und Befundung der Bestände erfolgen in Laxenburg auch die Rekonstruktion historischer Filme sowie die digitale Filmrestaurierung wesentlicher Produktionen. In einem eigenen Gebäudetrakt wird die bedeutende Kinotechniksammlung aufbewahrt, diese Spezialkollektion umfasst u. a. Filmkameras, Projektoren, historische Kopierwerke sowie zahlreiche Exponate zur Vorgeschichte des Kinos.


ADRESSE

Parkweg 89, 2361 Laxenburg
-> Karte anzeigen

KONTAKT

laxenburg@filmarchiv.at
+43 (0)1 216 13 00 – 415

BESUCH

Das Filmdepot kann auf Nachfrage besichtigt werden.